List of the 2018 AAOM Officers, Diplomates, and Awards 

President: Eric T Stoopler
President-Elect: Lauren Patton
Vice-President: Andres Pinto
Secretary: Vidya Sankar
Treasurer: Nathaniel Treister
Assistant Treasurer: Kentaro Ikeda
Assistant Secretary: Carol Anne Murdoch Kinch
Past President 2016-2017: Wendy Hupp
Immediate Past President 2017-2018: Miriam Robbins
Executive Director: Michele Reeder 

New ABOM Diplomates 


May Alsenami
Milda Chmieliauskaite
Dina Hammouda
Lina Mejia
Thamer Musbah
Tiffany Tavares
Jaisri Thoppay
Anna Yuan
Dr. Rose Geist (current ABOM Diplomate) passed the RCSEd Fellowship exam in the recent AAOM meeting, San Antonio, TX.

AAOM Award and Officer Nominations

Diamond Pin Award: Michaell Huber
Samuel Charles Miller: Stephen Challacombe
Herschfus Memorial Award: Sunday Akintoye
Honorary Membership: Ken Hargreaves

Certificate of Merit

Istvan A. Hargital,  CGGuide Rev  
Charles S. Greene, CGGuide Rev
Pamela J. Gardner, CGGuide Rev
Shawn Adibi, CGGuide Rev
Juan Bugueno, Publication Committee
Bhavik Desai, Publication Committee

Congratulations to the following AAOM Abstract Award Winners 2018:

Lester Burkett Award

  1. Timing of Pre-Radiation Dental Treatment and Risk of Osteonecrosis, J. Amadeo Valdez, Carolinas Healthcare System, USA
  2. Combined PI3K/mTOR Inhibition and Transcription Repression in Head and Neck Carcinoma, Tiffany Tavares, Harvard School of Dental Medicine, USA

Case Report Awards

  1. Multifocal Granular Cell Tumors Occurring with Geographic Tongue, Saeed Arem et al, School of Dentistry University of California San Francisco, USA
  2. Severe Oral Mucosal Hypersensitivity Reaction to Apixaban, Meghan Gahm et al, University of Colorado, USA
  3. IgG4-related Disease Mimicking Extranodal Lymphoma of the Hard Palatal Mucosa: A case report and review of the literature, Alaa Bukhari et al, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine, USA
  4. Chronic Mucocutaneous Candidiasis due to Gain-of-Function Mutation in STAT1, Barbara Carey et al, Eastman Dental Hospital, UCLH NHS Foundation Trust, UK
  5. Oncogenic Osteomalacia Caused by a Phosphaturic Mesenchymal Tumor of the Mandible: A Case Report, Rishabh P Acharya et al, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, USA 

Return to 2018 Spring AAOM News