News from University of Pennsylvania, School of Dental Medicine, Department of Oral Medicine

The Oral Medicine residency program at the University of Pennsylvania is an intensive training program, with clinical training based at the University of Pennsylvania Health System (Perelman Center for Advanced Medicine, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Penn Medicine at Radnor) and the School of Dental Medicine. The program culminates in a certificate of completion, with options to pursue a Master of Science in Oral Biology (MSOB) degree or a Doctor of Science in Dentistry (DScD) degree from the School of Dental Medicine.  The Department of Oral Medicine is led by Chair, Dr. Thomas Sollecito, with faculty Dr. Eric Stoopler, Dr. Sunday Akintoye, Dr. Takako Tanaka, Dr. Mel Mupparapu, Dr. Temitope Omolehinwa, Dr. Thomas Berardi, Dr. Arthur Kuperstein, and Dr. Martin Greenberg.

Congratulations to Dr. Thomas P. Sollecito, this year’s recipient of the Martin S. Greenberg, D.D.S. Teaching Award in Oral Medicine, presented to the faculty member who demonstrates excellence in resident teaching.

We would like to welcome our newest faculty member, Dr. Temitope Omolehinwa, to the department.  Dr. Omolehinwa completed the oral medicine residency program at Penn and recently earned her Doctor of Science in Dentistry degree from the same institution.  Dr. Thomas Berardi is now full-time faculty in the department.  Dr. Martin Greenberg will be returning to the department as part-time faculty. 

In other Department news, Hazel Dean, who has supported the Oral Medicine faculty and students in countless ways for many years, retired.  Hazel has been part of the Penn Dental Medicine community for 41 years, serving the Department with her administrative and project-management skills and we thank her for her service and dedication to the School.  Her last day was Friday, July 21.  We wish her all the best as she begins a well-deserved retirement. 

Congratulations to this summer’s graduates, Dr. Dalal Alomar, Dr. Lujain Homeida, Dr. Sahar Mirfarsi, and Dr. David Ojeda (See Photo)Dr. Mirfarsi was the recipient of the 2017 Robert Schattner Award for Outstanding Oral Medicine Resident.  Dr. Alomar, Dr. Homeida, and Dr. Ojeda obtained their certificates with Dr. Alomar, continuing at Penn Dental Medicine in the MSOB program.  Dr. Katherine France is in her final year of residency (certificate) and has assumed the role of chief resident.  Dr. Anwar Almuzaini and Dr. Chalatip Chompunud Na Ayudhya are also continuing in the residency, with Dr. Almuzaini pursuing a certificate/MSOB degree and Dr. Chompunud Na Ayudhya pursuing a certificate/DScD degree.  We also welcomed four new residents this summer, Dr. Ahmed Alqahtani, Dr. Mohammed Bindakhil, Dr. Scarlet Charmelo and Dr. Wesley Sherrell, all pursuing a certificate in Oral Medicine.  Dr. Sausan Alfaris continues to pursue her DScD degree.

Oral Medicine Residency Graduation – Class of 2017. From L to R: Dr. Sahar Mirfarsi, Dr. David Ojeda Diaz, Dr. Dalal Alomar, Dr. Lujain Homeida. (Photo courtesy of Dr. Lujain Homeida).


Return to 2017 Fall AAOM News