News from University of Pennsylvania, Scool of Dental Medicine, Department of Oral Medicine

The oral medicine residency at the University of Pennsylvania is an intensive program, with clinical training based at the University of Pennsylvania Health System (Perelman Center for Advanced Medicine, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Penn Medicine at Radnor) and the School of Dental Medicine. The program culminates in a certificate of completion, with options to pursue a Master of Science in Oral Biology (MSOB) or a Doctor of Science (DScD) from the School of Dental Medicine. The Department of Oral Medicine is led by Chair, Dr. Thomas Sollecito, with faculty Dr. Sunday Akintoye, Dr. Thomas Berardi, Dr. Arthur Kuperstein, Dr. Mel Mupparapu, Dr. Eric Stoopler and Dr. Takako Tanaka.

Please join us in saying farewell to Dr. Farideh Madani, who retired from the faculty of Penn Dental Medicine. Dr. Kuperstein is now semi-retired and continues to teach in the Department of Oral Medicine on a part-time basis.

Congratulations to Dr. Mel Mupparapu, recipient of the 2017 Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Eric Stoopler was named the first Penn Dental Medicine faculty member elected to The Academy of Master Clinicians, the highest clinical honor bestowed by Penn Medicine. In addition, Dr. Stoopler received this year’s Basic Science Award, presented by the Penn Dental Medicine Class of 2017. Dr. Stoopler will serve as President-Elect of AAOM, while Dr. Thomas Sollecito will serve as the Treasurer and Director for the American Board of Oral Medicine (ABOM) for the upcoming year. In addition, Dr. Sunday Akintoye will serve as Chair of the AAOM Research Committee, while Dr. Takako Tanaka will serve as Vice-Chair of the AAOM Program Directors Committee.

Residents of the program thoroughly enjoyed attending this year’s annual meeting in Orlando.

Dr. Eric Stoopler

Return to 2017 Spring AAOM News